All generic top-level domain name extensions and some country-code ones support a security lock option whose purpose is to impede unauthorized transfers of active domain names. Lots of domain name registry organizations that oversee ccTLDs that do not support this option are in the process of introducing it for the sake of security and for the convenience of the domain registrants. A domain name can be transferred only on the condition that it is unlocked and only a registrant who has been granted access to the account with the current domain name registrar can accomplish that. New domains are registered with the lock option activated on purpose, so as to impede any unwanted transfer attempts. The lock feature is among the security measures for controlling the transfer of existing domains between domain name registrars that have been adopted over the years.

Registrar Lock in Shared Website Hosting

If you purchase a shared website hosting plan from our company, you’ll be able to manage all domain names registered through us via our Hepsia Control Panel and you’ll be able to unlock any of them with only a couple of mouse clicks. All registrations will be shown alphabetically in the Domain Manager section of the hosting Control Panel and for each one of them you’ll see a small padlock icon. Clicking on it will show you the present security lock status. If the domain is locked and you would like to transfer it away, you will just have to click once more and you will be all set. Locking a domain is just as easy and since the domains are managed in the exact same location as the web hosting account itself, you won’t need to sign in and out of different tools.

Registrar Lock in Semi-dedicated Servers

If you’ve registered a domain name through us and you want to transfer it away, you can quickly unlock it via the same Hepsia Control Panel, which you use to administer your semi-dedicated server account. All domain registrations will be displayed alphabetically in your account and you’ll notice a tiny padlock-like icon on the right side of each domain there, on the condition that its extension supports the registrar lock option. You can see if the domain is locked or not by clicking on this icon and update the present status by clicking on it again. You can then go ahead and start the transfer straight away without waiting for the status to change on WHOIS lookup sites, as the change will take effect immediately without you or us having to do anything else.